Courses and Conferences

Current Courses and Conferences

May 4-6, 2011
Australia and New Zealand Society for Geriatric Medicine (ANZSGM) Annual Scientific Meeting 2011: Pathways to Learning
Auckland, New Zealand

May 16-20, 2011
Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh: Update Course in Elderly Medicine
The Queen Mother Conference Centre
Edinburgh, Scotland

May 19-21, 2011
The American Pain Society 30th Annual Scientific Meeting
Austin, TX

The Association of Subspecialty Professors (ASP) is pleased to announce the third annual class of the T. Franklin Williams Scholars Program. The seven scholars are recipients of two-year or three-year career development awards and will join fourteen current awardees in achieving the program goal of integrating geriatrics in to the subspecialties of internal medicine. (202) 861-6900;

The American Urogynecologic Society/June Allyson Foundation is seeking to identify potential future academic leaders and to stimulate their development through the support of research fellowships. The Fellowship Award is to be used to provide research training and experience for a candidate who exhibits significant evidence of talent and dedication to research. This is a one-year award up to $24,000 plus a $2,000 allowance for travel to the annual AUGS meeting. For more information, please contact: AUGS/June Allyson Foundation, AUGS Headquarters 1200 19th St NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036-5329. (202) 857-5329;

Educational Gerontology is soliciting manuscripts for possible publication. The journal publishes on a broad range of topics with educational implications for training, teaching and learning. Of special interest are papers on aspects of gerontology in higher education and K-12. Sponsored by the National Association for Teaching and Learning about Aging and the Center for Studies in Aging at the University of North Texas in association with the Higher Education Program at the University of North Texas, the journal can be contacted as follows: E-mail: Papers should adhere to the requirements contained in the Publications Manual of the APA. 4th ed. 1994. Address submissions to: D. Barry Lumsden, University of North Texas, PO Box 311337, Denton, TX 76203-1337.

The John Heinz Senate Fellowship in Issues of the Aging The John Heinz Senate Fellowship Program is designed to identify and train new leaders in issues affecting seniors. Intended as a career development opportunity for professionals, the program will provide first-hand knowledge in the development and advancement of public policy and legislation that will improve the quality of life for our young and, in alternate years, for older Americans. The program was created in 1992 to honor the memory of the late United States Senator John Heinz, who spent much of his Congressional career as an outspoken advocate for the rights of older Americans and for the protection, health, welfare and education of children.

The Pfizer/AGS Foundation for Health in Aging Junior Faculty Scholars Program for Research on Health Outcomes in GERIATRICS provides $65,000 per year for two years to two physician-scientists who wish to pursue original research in geriatrics health outcomes. This grant was formerly known as the Pfizer/AGS Postdoctoral Fellowship Program for Research on Health Outcomes in Geriatrics.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Call for Proposalsfor Changes in Health Care Financing and Organization (HCFO) is an initiative that supports policy analysis, research, evaluation and demonstration projects. Projects may be initiated from within many disciplines including health services research, economics, sociology, political science, public policy, public health, public administration, law and business administration. Grants will be awarded on a rolling basis. Applications may be submitted at any time. The complete Call for Proposals is available at or (220) 292-6700.

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Community Health Leaders Program (CHLP) honors ten outstanding individuals for their work in creating or enhancing healthcare programs serving communities whose needs have been ignored and unmet. Each leader receives $100,000, which includes a $5,000 personal stipend and $95,000 for program enhancement over a 3-year period. CHLP seeks out individuals who have the leadership skills to overcome complex obstacles and find creative ways to bring healthcare services to their communities. All are largely unrecognized and in “mid-career,” most often with no less than five and no more than 15 years of community health work experience. The nomination process is open and nominations can be made by consumers, community health leaders, health professionals, and government officials who have been inspired personally by the nominees. Interested nominators can write CHLP at any time for a brochure and a letter of intent form (LOI) at: 30 Winter St., Suite 920, Boston, MA 02108. (617) 426-9772;

The National Institute on Aging seeks applications for Probes for Microimaging the Nervous System. Awards are greater in duration and amounts than in previous years for research and development of probes that generate signals detectable by one or more im¬aging modality. Such probes should indicate the structure or function of molecules or subcellular ele¬ments of neurons or other cells of the nervous system. Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR): This funding opportunity will use the SBIR (R43/R44) grant mechanisms. See: Refer to PA-06-021. Deadlines: April 1, August 1, and December 1 of each year. Small Business Technology Transfer Research (STTR): Funding will be a STTR (R41/R42) grant. See: Refer to PA-06-022 or Contact Stephen Snyder at (301) 496-9350 or via e-mail for further information.

The American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Research and Education Foundation is requesting applications for the Award for Excellence in Medication-Use Safety to honor a pharmacist-led multidisciplinary team for its significant institution0wide system improvements relating to medication use. The $50,000 award, which is sponsored by the Cardinal Health Foundation, recognizes pharmacy professionals who have assumed a leadership role in promoting safety in the medication-use process. The program also honors two finalists, who each receive $10,000. Practitioners from all hospitals and health systems within the U.S. are eligible to apply. Visit the ASHP Foundation at: